Header Ads

Sanwo-Olu Bags Best Tourism Governor Award

Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has bagged the best Tourism Governor award following his numerous contributions to the growth of domestic tourism in the state. 

 This was announced during the 2020 edition of the Nigeria Tourism award ceremony, known as the Belearica Awards, organised virtually by the Nigeria Travel Week. 

 Mr Efetobo Awhana, Organiser of the event, disclosed that Gov. Sanwo-Olu deserved the award because he is the only Governor to establish a tourism support fund following the devastating effect of COVID-19 on the industry. 

 Awhana said that the Governor also prioritised tourism policies among some other positive tourism initiatives implemented in the state. 

 “The 2020 Nigeria Tourism award recognises those tourism firms and individuals who have gone out of their way to boost domestic tourism while COVID-19 ravaged the world. 

 “2020 was indeed a difficult year for every practitioner in the tourism industry, yet many individuals went out of their way to ensure that the industry thrived amidst all odds,” he said. 

 Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation, also got special recognition award for tourism infrastructure due to his contributions towards improving the transportation system in Nigeria, especially the railway. Awhana said this was crucial to the growth of tourism in Nigeria. 

 Special recognition award for tourism innovation went to Skyview Communications; Dr Ibrahim Goni, Conservator-General of the National Park Service bagged special recognition for essential duties while Mr Adeyanju Lipede was rewarded for tourism investment. 

 Sterling Bank was given special recognition award for tourism support as some other individuals were recognised as tourism industry Icons – Mrs Susan Akporaiye, Mr Gani Balogun.

No comments